Morning sickness advice(from someone who doesn’t believe in morning sickness advice)

Standard

Those of you that know me, know that when I am in a situation, I research like crazy. When we go on vacation, I research all of the best places to eat. When we are flying out of an airport, I research the map of the flight we are on. Naturally, as soon as my morning sickness hit me, I began to research how to get rid of it. Here’s the thing though: You don’t get rid of morning sickness. Sure, you can help combat it, but it never truly goes away until (hopefully) your second trimester. While researching, I found some tips to help with it though and here’s what I think of these tips.

1. Eat something before you even get out of bed in the morning: Wellllll, what happens if you’re getting out of bed two or three times a night and you aren’t worried about eating something before you get up because you have a screaming baby beside you wanting HIS food?

2. Stay hydrated: Ooooh, I would love to, but unfortunately, I haven’t found ANYTHING that I can drink that will stay down. (Those of you that know me know that it is killing me that I can’t drink water all day long!)

3. Sleep as much as you can: I am doing this! Unfortunately, it’s not enough.

4. Eat 6 small meals a day: But I don’t FEEL like eating. (whiny voice inserted here.)

5. Avoid any triggers of your sickness: I would LOVE to do that, but unfortunately, my trigger is the smell of baby formula which I have to use about 6 million times a day. Oh well, I feed W and then I go throw up.

The only tip that I have found that helps is to find something you can eat and stick with it. That’s why right now I am basically living off of chicken fingers and bread. Also, I like the “Never be hungry” rule because that just gives me more reason to eat chicken fingers and bread. And to not drink anything.

Besides all of this, I am so incredibly thankful because not only do I get to look down and see my sweet Ward dozing peacefully in my arms, but I also know that I will begin seeing my belly swell with his brother or sister soon. There are so many people that never are blessed as much as I have been in the past month. Because of that, I am grateful. (No matter how whiny this post may sound. 🙂 )

2 thoughts on “Morning sickness advice(from someone who doesn’t believe in morning sickness advice)

  1. Jade

    It’s okay. You are allowed to whine. Pregnancy is amazing, but sometimes it does suck. You are growing a human being inside of you, and while many many women would give their left leg to be pregnant, that doesn’t mean you HAVE to be happy and excited and perfectly perfect EVERY SINGLE SECOND! This too (morning sickness) shall pass!

Leave a Reply

