The day that changed my life.

Standard

There have been a lot of important days in my life. The day of my birth, the day of my baptism, the day I graduated from college, my wedding day. However, none of these days will compare to December 15th, 2014, the day that changed my life forever.

After one last, long weekend at home enjoying each others’ company(we even got a full nights sleep!), we got the phone call yesterday morning that our birthmom went into labor. All according to God’s plan, we were able to get to the hospital before she gave birth. I was even able to get to be in the delivery room when he was born. Guys, I don’t know how else to say that GOD IS GLORIOUS. Never in a million years did I think that I would experience the birth process. But I did, and I got to see my sweet, precious 5 pound 10 ounce baby come into this world. I got to hear his first cry. By far, it was the most amazing experience of my life. Ken was in the waiting room, but was glad to be there. As soon as he could, he came back to meet our son. My parents were here soon after he was born, so he also got to meet Marmee and Standaddy last night too. (Plus, they brought us pizza, which we ate like we had never eaten before.)

One reason that I know that God is and has been involved in this whole thing is because of the relationship we have formed with his birthmom. If I ever grow up to be as selfless and loving as she is, I will be satisfied with who I am in life. God’s love that he sent to us so many Christmases ago, has been personified through this woman this Christmas. I can never begin to tell her how much I will thank God and praise God upon every remembrance I have of her. Every time I see my sweet baby’s face, I will look back and I will thank God.

Another reason that I know that God is and has been involved in all of this, is because of all of the people that have joined in this journey with us. There have been so many texts and phone calls and facebook messages that have just been so encouraging. We could NEVER write thank you notes to everyone that has been here along the way, so this is our thank you note to you. Just know that our prayers(yours included!) have been answered, no matter what happens from here on out. We love you all.

The final reason that I know that God is and has been involved in all of this(well, the last reason I am going to write about it) is because He is God. He is good. He is always with us. Because of this never failing truth, I have felt Him with us all along the way. Please keep praying for us to continue remembering this even though things are going are way right now. It’s been really easy for us to see God’s glory and mercy this past year, but pray that we continue to search to see it through these next few years of parenthood.

I leave you with this. Remember it’s truth.

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose. Romans 8.28

4 thoughts on “The day that changed my life.

  1. Abrb17@att.net

    Congratulations to you both, or should I say to you three? How very exciting for your family. Dick and I wish you the very best of luck and hope Ward is a good and happy baby. God has given you an awesome gift. Open it with love. Hugs, Anna and Dick

  2. Joy Knop

    This absolutely brought tears to my eyes (you know it’s easy to make me cry). I am so proud for you and Ken. What a wonderful journey you are embarking upon. I can’t wait to meet little Ward and see him grow throughout the years. Love to you all!

  3. carolebrett

    This IS truly a time that will change your life. The joy this little boy will bring to you is unbelievable!! Always remember that God already knew from the very beginning that you and Ken would be the parents of this precious little boy. I always felt such a sense of awe the way things came together when we adopted Lindsey. Now that she has a little boy it is even more awesome, especially since she and Leslie found out they were pregnant the same week, went through their pregnancies together, and both gave birth to boys 9 days apart. I know your mom must be over the moon. Enjoy every minute of your time with Ward. Enjoy the rocking, cuddling, and loving. Time passes quickly, so savor every moment and every stage of his growth. Congratulations to you and Ken and both families on this wonderful gift God has given you. And hang on and enjoy the ride–its going to be GREAT!!

Leave a Reply

