The one whom my soul loves.

Standard

Dear Ken,

A couple of times in the past couple of weeks, people have started conversations with me like this: “Wait until the baby gets here. You won’t have anytime for anything besides him.” I am so excited to spend so much time with my sweet Ward, but at the same time, this thought terrifies me.

There are already so many things that come between us and our time together. Our jobs, our families, responsibilities and obligations that we have, college football, and Pinterest. (The last one is just me.) Sometimes, during the middle of the week, I think to myself, “I can’t wait until Saturday.” because on Saturday I know that usually we have about three hours or so that it is just the two of us, uninterrupted.

Now, we will have another HUMAN living in our house, taking up huge chunks of our time.adding to everything else going on in our lives. Ward is going to be the best thing that has ever happened to either of us, but at the same time, I don’t want us not be us anymore. I want to make this promise to you here and now: I promise that no matter what, I make time for you. It might not be uninterrupted time, it might not be quiet time, it might not be the most romantic time, but I will make time for you. You know why? Because you are the person that knows me so truly and deeply and no one can ever love me the way you do, just like no one will ever love you the way I do. Our love for Ward will be so immensely great, but it will different. Our love for each other has to transcend over all else. Even when things get hectic, and we haven’t slept for hours on end, and even when you get to leave the house and go to work, and I am so frustrated because I want the baby to just. stop. crying, I promise that I will be as close to the person that you fell in love with as possible. Or at least, I will become someone who you fall in love with even more.

Basically, I say all of this to say this: You, and only you, will always be my bae. 😉

I love you,

Stacy

One thought on “The one whom my soul loves.

Leave a Reply

