I walk the line

Standard

 

Once again, the time is here. It’s time to get back into a regular school schedule. Ken always says that he likes “summer Stacy” the best. It’s because I am relaxed, I am not always on a tight schedule or too overly stressed. When I am relaxed, he can relax. Unfortunately, all of this is true. When I am in school, I have to go to bed at a certain time, wake up at a certain time, eat dinner at a certain time, work out on a regular basis. My life is just routine, but extremely busy. 

 There are jobs that you go at a certain time, leave at a certain time, and not another thought is given to your job after you leave the door. Man, this would be nice. As a teacher, there is not a day that goes by that I am not grading papers, writing lesson plans, entering grades, filling out paper work, writing names on folders, or at the very least thinking about your students and what will be best for them at all times. You can ask Ken. Most of the time if he asks me what is on my mind, it is one of my students. Something that happened at school, their homelives, or issues that I think that they are having. 

As a wife and a future mother, I have made my decision(and it was a hard one to make.) My decision is that I will teach my little heart out while I am at school. I will write awesome lesson plans, teach effectively, love on my students, reflect on what I am doing right and wrong, and of course, assess. 😉 But at the end of the day, I am going home. I am not letting my job control my life. Right now, when I tell people that I am going home leaving it all at school, they will always say, “Oh wait until you have kids. Then, you will always be rushing to get out.” Well, I am sure that is true, I will want to spend a lot of time with my kid or kids, but I also want to get home to be with my husband. He deserves some of my time too. 

Please don’t see this post as someone who is berating teachers for staying past 5:00. I do it too some times. I’m also not saying you should never bring home papers to grade or lessons to write. And for goodness sakes, I am DEFINITELY not saying that when you leave the school, you should forget all about the students’ lives that you are affecting every day. This one is especially hard to do. All I am saying is that my choice has to be my family. My purpose in life is my job, and I love teaching everyday that I am there. But my family deserves so much more from me than I give them even now. 

Please pray for me, and all of the other teachers starting back to school soon. Pray that our priorities are right. Pray that we show our love and devotion to our school family, but that we can also show our love and devotion even more to our family at home. I want my child to grow up in a house(kind of like I did) where they know that my job is SO important and while I love it, I love them even more. This year will be especially important for me to do this. 

One thought on “I walk the line

  1. Your child or children will know they’re loved the most even if you do have other children on your mind. It teaches them to be loving and understanding of others, too. And I’m sure Ken knows he’s loved the most!

Leave a Reply

