The story of us.

Standard

Today’s post has nothing to do with the adoption of our baby. Today’s post has everything to do with the adoption of our baby. 

Five years ago today: I had just met this guy named Ken. We were all out for trivia and we just happened to start talking. He asked for my phone number and we “talked”(texted) everyday after that. Since we have met, we have not gone one single day without talking. We hadn’t even been on our first date yet!

Four years ago today: The best day of my life so far. I remember waking up early. My eyes just popped open and wouldn’t close again. At 5:00 in the evening on July 10th, 2010, we were married. We were also lucky enough to be surrounded by our closest friends and family on that day. It was just the most beautiful wedding leading into a beautiful marriage. 

Three years ago today: We were heading to Mexico Beach, which is one of our favorite places, to celebrate our one year anniversary. It had been a tough year. Both of us being only children, we had to readjust our whole lives and ways of thinking because now we had to think about someone besides ourselves. I remember that being hard, hard, hard to do. But on that day, July 10th, 2011, exactly one year after our wedding, we had a blast together laying by the pool and on the beach.

Two years ago today: We were on a cruise celebrating not only our anniversary but life as well. Life was in a good spot for us. Ken had just gotten a promotion at work. We had put our small house on the market and were looking for a bigger house to get ready for baby. We had decided to start trying to have said baby. Life was good. 

One year ago today: We were now in our bigger house. (We hope to stay in this house until we die, partly because it’s an awesome house, partly because we never want to move again.) We are ready to start our family. We have been trying to have a baby for a year with no luck. We were both pretty disappointed by this. Because of this, both of us had retreated into ourselves. Again, the only child thing came into play. We didn’t share our problems with each other. We each tried to handle it on our own. It was hard. There were days we went without speaking to each other. Not because we were mad at each other, just because we were mad with life I think. (I am speaking mainly for myself, because I can’t speak for Ken all of the time.) It was hard. On our anniversary though, we went to Tallahassee to our favorite sushi spot, went to Target(LOVE!) and had froyo. Just because we felt like our life was not going the right way, didn’t mean our anniversary had to be the same. We had fun that day. 

Today: We have plans to celebrate. Nothing big, nothing elaborate, just eating out and cupcakes. However, no matter the plans we have, we will celebrate because today is a big day. Today is the day that our lives changed forever. 

Around the time that we were engaged and planning our wedding, there was a popular song out by Brad Paisley, “I thought I loved you then.” The lyrics basically say that through every stage in a relationship you love more and more even though you didn’t think it was possible to love more than you did in the stage before.

“I remember taking you back
To right where I first met you
You were so suprised
There were people around
But I didn’t care
I got down on one knee right there
And once again
I thought I loved you then” 

When I first heard this song, I thought to myself, that’s sweet, but I don’t believe it. I don’t believe that I will ever love Ken more than I do right now. Oh, I was so, so, so wrong. Every day since the day we got married I have loved Ken more. On the days where we are traveling or laughing or going out to eat or staying in and watching movies and eating Little Caesar’s, I love him more. On the days where we don’t say one word to each other or when we are yelling and screaming at each other, or the days when feelings are hurt and words are misconstrued, I love him more. Through these past six months and the stages of adoption, I have loved him more and more. The man that I met five years ago evolves everyday and it amazes me. I hope we never stop growing and never stop loving. I love you, Ken. 

Leave a Reply

