Moses.

Standard

Image

All sorts of famous people were adopted. Steve Jobs, Marilyn Monroe, and Superman just to name a few. Even though we know all of these people were adopted, we don’t ever really think about what their life might have been like if they hadn’t been adopted by their now parents. 

Today at church, we talked about a story I have heard all of my life, but today it took on a completely different meaning. The story was the story of Moses, whose mother gave him up as an infant because the king had ordered all sons to be killed. Infanticide was rampant in these ages. Moses’s “birthmother” loved her son so much that she let him go. She put him in a basket and put him in the river. Amazingly, the Pharaoh’s daughter was the one to find him. Just by that one chance trip to the river, Moses’s life and the life of Pharaoh’s daughter were drastically changed.This is a story about a son who was supposed to be murdered but instead grew up to lead his people to freedom. He parted the Red Sea. He led his people through the wilderness, even when he didn’t think he had it in him. This is how adoption is. When I truly stop and think about the difference that we might make in our child’s life, it gives me chillbumps. Having said this, I am not discrediting our child’s birthmother. I am only saying that Ken and I are going to try our best to give our child all of the opportunities in this world. (Today, I was even thinking our child could be a Vanderbilt graduate. That’s the one SEC school neither Ken nor I would mind our child being a fan of.)

Along those same lines, think about your life. Imagine how different your life would be if you had not been adopted into God’s family. I know one thing, I make enough mistakes and act stupidly enough while being a child of His, that I don’t even want to imagine a life without His grace to rescue me. When we think through our lives, we know of times that without His help, we don’t know how we would have made it. My life was forever and drastically changed by God. That’s MY adoption story. Now, I get a chance to tell my baby their Earthly adoption story, but I also plan on introducing them to the love and hope of Jesus Christ so that they can be adopted by God just like their Mama and Daddy were!

  

Leave a Reply

