Happy Mother’s Day! Part 2: Marmee

Standard

Image

 

Dear Little One,

     Today is Mother’s Day. I LOVE MOTHER’S DAY! It is so exciting to think about the year when I get to celebrate being a mother to my sweet little baby, which is YOU! J But that’s not the reason I love Mother’s Day so much. The reason why I love Mother’s Day so much is because that’s the day when I get to show your Marmee how much I love and appreciate her. (Your Marmee is my Mama. J )

          Whenever I think about patience, I think about my Mama. Even when she had to deal with her strongwilled only child, she never wavered. Well, sometimes she did, but then I knew I had gone too far and I immediately stopped whining or being annoying. Her exact words after she had heard too much were usually “Not another word.”.  So there was not another word. Go ahead and learn that phrase because eventually, probably in about 12 or 13 years you will hear this phrase from me as well.

          When I think about sacrifice, I think about my Mama. She would do almost anything in this world to make me happy, even if she had to give up something that she really wanted to do. I think back to all of the times that she and Standaddy drove to all of my swim meets, band concerts, softball games, knowing that there were many other things that she could have been doing or maybe even wanted to be doing, but instead she put herself aside to be there for me. For a while, she didn’t feel very good and no doctor could figure out why she didn’t feel good. They ran so many tests and just couldn’t give her a true diagnosis. That never stopped her from taking me shopping for school clothes or still going on our yearly camping vacation. I will probably never be able to sacrifice like Marmee did for me, but I promise that I will try and I will do my best.

          When I think about fun, I think about your Marmee. Of course, I have learned this more and more since I have gotten older. When I was younger, Standaddy was the only fun one. Then, when I became a teenager, neither one of them were fun.  Then, when I was about 20 or so, I realized how fun they BOTH are actually. Your Marmee always makes me LOL.(laugh out loud) We still continue shopping together, vacationing together, eating together(that’s our favorite). Before your Daddy and I got married, I spent MOST of my time with Marmee. I know that she will be even more fun for you than she was for me!

          When I think about support, I think about my Mama. You will never find someone who is your biggest fan. Even when you make a mistake, don’t make the team, or even gain a little weight and don’t like the way you look all of the time, Marmee is always the first one that will remind you how awesome you are. She will ALWAYS brag on your accomplishments to anyone who will listen. Whenever I meet anyone who knows my Mama, they always tell me how many good things they have heard about me, all of them being from her. In the book, The Help, Aibileen, the main character, always tells the little girl, “You is kind. You is smart. You is important.” Your Marmee will always tell you these exact words, but she will just use a little better grammar. J

          Finally, when I think about love, I think about your Marmee. She shows love to everyone. She loves Standaddy with a love like no other. They will ALWAYS be together when you see them, so just get ready. She loves your Daddy and me like crazy too. I don’t know what we would do without her. She loves her family, her church, and her Savior just as much too! She shows love to EVERYONE around her so it’s really hard not to show love back to her. I really can’t wait for you to get here because I can’t wait to introduce you to her and show you, not just tell you, how awesome she is and how much she is going to love you.

          Your Marmee is the reason why I celebrate Mother’s Day. Eventually, I will be able to celebrate being a mother on my own on this day, but until then, I am so, so, so excited to celebrate my Mama!

          Love,

                   Your Mama 

One thought on “Happy Mother’s Day! Part 2: Marmee

Leave a Reply

