Cliche.

Standard

Image

 

 

Over the past couple of posts, I have tried to let you all in on where we stand in the process of our adoption. There are several different things that we are working on at the moment. We are completing our training classes online, which hopefully we will be able to finish today especially now that Florida has won their basketball game. 🙂 We have been collecting everything for our homestudy to be turned in. The only thing we have left with that is to get our fingerprints done by the GBI. We have already sent our prints in to the FBI, but apparently, they need to make sure that we haven’t done anything illegal in the eyes of the GBI either. Another thing that we are in the process of completing is a profile book. This book is like a scrapbook of our lives that the agency will be able to show prospective birthparents. It will be the first impression that we give to the woman that will be able to change our lives forever. It’s a pretty big deal, which is why I have included my mom in helping us out with it. After all, she’s the one that has all of the cute pictures! 

One of the sections that they ask you to include in your profile book is a section about your house including a picture. They also ask you to include a picture of the room that is to be the baby’s nursery. It doesn’t have to be finished, but they want you to show the area where the baby will grow up. I have gone back and forth on the idea of whether or not to go ahead and redecorate this room to be the nursery for the picture, or whether or not to leave it untouched. As usual, many people have offered their advice. “Won’t it make you sad to have the room decorated but not have a baby for a while?” or “Don’t you think the birthparents would like to see the room decorated?”. Also as usual, I do what I want. I have decided that we are going to go ahead and get the nursery ready. 🙂 Of course, we have to do a gender neutral nursery seeing as how we don’t know the sex of the baby so we are going to do it grey and yellow, maybe even a few little elephants thrown in. This is my Spring Break project. 

I really wanted a wall hanging of a bible verse that I felt appropriate for this baby’s room. I knew exactly who I wanted to do the wall hanging, my beautiful, talented bestie Laura. She’s a graphic designer(Check out her designs at Fleecher Designs!) and I know she will be able to just do a beautiful job! My problem was I couldn’t decide which verse I wanted to hang in my baby’s room. There are so many good ones, 1 Samuel 1.27, Psalm 139.14, James 1.17. All of these are such great verses, but I just kept coming back to Jeremiah 29.11, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you.” I kept pushing this verse away because this verse is used on EVERYTHING from greeting cards to graduation announcements. I didn’t want to be “cliche.” Suddenly, I realized, there is NOTHING cliche about the word of God. This verse is just what fits to hang in our child’s room because adoption was not the plan that we had, unplanned pregnancy was not the plan of our baby’s birthmother, but all along this process is God’s plan. God knows exactly where our baby is, when our baby will be born, and everything else about our baby’s life. He doesn’t promise us that we always understand the plan, but He promises that He knows the plans he has for us, our baby, and our baby’s birthmother. That truth is always sufficient and it is something that I want my baby to know from the first day we bring him/her home. 

3 thoughts on “Cliche.

Leave a Reply

