How can I plan the unplanned?

Standard

For those of you that know me, you know I am a planner. No, really. I plan my meals for the week, I plan what I am wearing for the week including hanging it up in that exact order in my closet, and I have already begun planning my birthday which is still over two months away. It’s just a part of who I am, take it or leave it. Over the past couple of days, I have realized that this is the first time in my life when I am not able to plan anything that is happening. And you know what? It doesn’t bother me!

My devotion this morning was about even when things are murky to us, God can see clearly. “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you.” Jeremiah 29.11. What a sobering and humbling and uplifting fact. God knows EXACTLY what He is doing, and even though I might not like it all of the time, I don’t always get to see His bigger picture. So right now, I am good. I am in a place where not knowing when we will have a baby, where our baby will come from, who our baby will look like, but even not knowing all of this, I am okay. I am actually better than okay, I am at peace and that can only come from Him. Even with having said that, please don’t say to me, “You don’t understand because you are not a parent.” If you do say this, I am likely to break down crying. (Yes, even in a parent conference. Oops.)

The update on the actual process right now: We have mailed in application forms to one agency we are working with that is in Macon. We had a reference letter written for us by our pastor and it was so supportive and encouraging. Another agency that we have been in contact with that is located in Orlando has set up a phone interview with us on Monday afternoon. This is for us to get a little more information about them and for them to get to know a little more about us. After our phone interview, we will be eligible for an online application to fill out. Ken had a friend email him about a lawyer in Americus that specializes in adoptions. She gave Ken the name and it just happened to be with an agency that a friend of a friend had used. We decided to give them a call. After playing a little bit of phone tag, Ken finally got to talk to her this morning and she just so happened to be on her way to Tallahassee. She said that she would stop by and see Ken at the bank to talk a little bit more in depth! Wow, this blessed our day! Ken left the meeting having a really good feeling about her services.

We are excited to see which way God leads us through all of this. Our way of thinking is, the more irons we have in the fire, the less stressful/painful/hectic the whole process will be. Whatever happens will be beautiful because it will all be a part of God’s greater plan in our lives! Thank you for continuing to read the blog and more importantly to pray for us. We need it! 🙂

“Whoever welcomes a child in my name welcomes me, and anyone who welcomes me welcomes also my Father who sent me.” Mark 9.37

4 thoughts on “How can I plan the unplanned?

  1. Deborah Fiveash

    Praying daily (or more) for y’all in this. We know God knows just what he wants for y’all. It will be awesome and wonderful. Look what he had for me and your daddy. 🙂

  2. Our adoption was so quick and from a different source than the agency we were working with (they had told us about a year wait) that we had to set up nursery, get Leslie seen about, buy supplies, drag stuff out of the attic to see what we could use from Leslie’s baby things, but had to keep everything a secret. It was a private adoption, so we didn’t want to get everyones hopes up in case anything fell through. But we were so excited we got everything done and she came home, dressed in a ruffled pink dress, lacy white socks, and tiny pink patent leather shoes. I always tease Leslie and Stephen and tell them Lindsey was by far the prettiest baby of the 3 when I first saw them. Her big sister was so excited, the nursery was so cute, and we couldn’t have been happier. And the best part was–I felt great! No having to take it easy, or needing to rest….easy-peasy. Every route we had been through for adoption was bypassed. That is why it is so important to tell everyone you know that you’re adopting…Dr.s, lawyers, Youth Ministers, Preachers, teachers, and the local DEFACS. A friend of mine in Adel just recently adopted a beautiful baby boy through DEFACS after waiting only 3 months, and were called three months later and asked if they would consider taking twin boys who had just been born. So let all these people know!!!!! Who knows, you may be rushing around setting up a nursery very soon!! 🙂 Carole

Leave a Reply

