We never imagined.

Standard

Well, this is my second blog so here’s hoping I will get the hang of it. Firstly, I want to say a huge THANK YOU to everyone. Over the past twenty four hours since we announced this news to the “world” via social media, you all have been so supportive and awesome. Ken and I never would have imagined the texts, the private messages, the emails, the hugs that we would get just letting us know that you all are behind us and praying for us. That is all we could ever ask for.

Whenever you announce news like this, a lot of people have a lot of questions. Two of the first questions we got especially from our family members were 1. Why did you come to this decision and 2. How did you come to this decision.

1. Without going into too much detail(You won’t ever see too much detail on here. I am way too private!), Ken and I have been trying to have a baby naturally for almost two years now. This is not long in many parents’ eyes, but to us part of this time has been really hard. We had reached a point where we were going to have to choose either the fertility route or the adoption route. This should answer the WHY of the decision.

2. That leads us into the How we reached this decision. Ken and I have prayed about, talked about, and researched both options we had. Let me be clear, we do not think one option is better or more right than the other! We came to the conclusion with a LOT of prayer that there are already babies in this world that are conceived and that need a home, even a loud, weird, random home like with Ken and me. 🙂 We didn’t feel the need for the baby to be our own flesh and blood to be “our baby”. This is HOW we came to this decision.

I hope that this answers a few questions that some of you have. Also, let me just say, that we could end up having a baby naturally as well during this process. If that happens, then that is obviously the path that God is leading us down. Either way, in the end, we will have a baby in our hearts and in our homes, and we will love the baby just the same.

“Whoever welcomes a child in my name welcomes me, and anyone who welcomes me welcomes also my Father who sent me.” Mark 9.37

5 thoughts on “We never imagined.

  1. Kelly Goodman

    I love you both and I think whatever decision you make to become parents is the right decision because God is going to match you up with the child you are meant to be mom and dad to. :0) I am buying the Oregon Ducks shirt now :0) And in case people wonder who I am and what crazy person would buy a duck shirt lol my husband and I met Ken and Stacy on a cruise in 2012 and we’ve kept in touch ever since. Great friends for life (lol at least I think so) oh and I’m from Oregon and well we have a mutual appreciation for our teams as long as they don’t play each other.

    • Of course, we are friends for life, Kelly! You go ahead and send that Oregon shirt, you know that Ken and I won’t ever agree on what team our kid will root for. I will want a baby Bulldawg and he wants a baby Gator. 🙂

  2. Jasmine Calhoun

    What an awesome testimony! I am so happy for you guys and pray that God leads you to the perfect baby for your home and hearts. With love – Jasmine

  3. Belinda Bullock Layfield

    As a person who it took several years to conceive, adoption was never far from my mind, I think that this is one of the most wonderful things a couple can do to have a family.I wish both you and Ken all the best in the world for taking this step to add family, there are so many precious little ones that need the love that y’all have to give. Your new little one will be so lucky because he or she was chosen by y’all special to be a part of your family. Again good luck and congrats and one more to add to the Bullock/Hayes clan at Christmas.

    you

  4. Mary Beth Donalson

    I am someone who could not have children however when my husband and I met, he had an 8-year-old son who is now 26. I had the pleasure of helping raise a wonderful young man who I call my son (even though others call him my stepson). This child that you are praying for will bring so much joy into your lives and will love you unconditionally for making he/she part of your family. I am so happy for you and wish you both the best.

Leave a Reply

